Lessons on Self September

As it is the beginning of October, I thought it would be a good time to go over the last month and process a little bit. This month has been awesome, and hard. September marked the return of school, the return of rain, the end of the summer gardening season, and a transition into winter. The summer projects have been completed (mostly) and it’s time to put the outdoors to rest and move indoors. I think it is also a good time to process the growth that this season has brought, specifically some things that I learned about myself this last month.

So five things I learned about myself in September:

  1. 6am is the time that society created specifically to spite me. This is the time that I have to wake up in order to make sure that the kids eat something substantial for breakfast, pack their lunches, get minion #2 showered and dressed, and minions #1 & #3 dressed and ready for our walk to school. If I sleep any longer one or more of these things has to go. No bueno.
  2. As much as routine is hard for me, it is helpful. For whatever reason, when I establish a routine in my mind the rest of me adamantly protests and fights the order. But if I can just push through that I can accomplish the washing of 5 loads of laundry, 2 loads of dishes, all the scrubbing and wiping down of surfaces, picking up, sweeping, vacuuming, and one or two deep cleaning tasks all while the kids are at school.
  3. When I am alone I tend not to eat, but rather only drink and then I am hungry but not hungry enough to cook for myself.
  4. Getting a puppy was an unwise decision and I should have listened to myself rather than justifying the reasons why I needed to make that bad decision. We knew when our cat died this summer that we were in for it. Our dog got depressed, and we felt so bad for him that we threw caution to the wind and went ahead and got a puppy. That puppy has subsequently begun destroying the landscaping I put in this summer, peeing on everything, chewing everything, and generally reigning chaos. Shes sweet and cute…but damn I knew better.
  5. I feel a great pull to do a better job of living my truth. I have been speaking about it for years now, I’m sure my friends and family are sick of hearing about it. But I really feel a strong conviction lately that it is long past time I live by my convictions.

Thanks for processing with me.

Ash

Leave a Reply

