Weight Loss Journey Week 7

After last weeks total failure I admit I was leery of stepping onto another scale. But this week I have been trying to eat healthy and I have been avoiding soda with the exception of diet which I have been trying to limit. For example I have been having oatmeal for breakfast instead of my normal cereal, and salad for lunches instead of a sandwich or burger. I have been really focused this week on making small sustainable changes that are still satisfying because I realized that if I’m not happy with my day to day existence then I am not going to stick with it.

I didn’t really exercise much this week, other than about 15-20 min on the days my husband worked. It was over 100 degrees here and when its that hot even with the air conditioner running I couldn’t think of anything more miserable than working out and generating heat. So what were my results this week? I lost…a lot….7 pounds! I’m sure a lot of it was water weight from the drinking the week before but I will take it! I also had an astonishing experience this week. We are attending a friends wedding next month and I had to go get clothes for the family and in shopping for a new dress I found I have lost 2 dress sizes since starting this journey! I am very excited about that! Also my shorts that I just got a few weeks ago are loose straight from the dryer! So even though my pounds lost seems to be fluctuating my clothes tell me that I am changing shape. Oh and I had two friends tell me that I looked thinner this week. Both mentioned that my face looked thinner, and the one took a picture and for the first time in a really long time I was not totally disgusted with how I looked in the photo (full body picture and everything!) don’t get me wrong, I am no where near where I want to be but at least I am headed in the right direction now.

This next week I plan on trying out a local deep water exercise class. I am really excited about this because I have missed swimming since I quit a few years ago and it will be nice to be able to drop the kids off at day care and go have some mom time in the middle of the day doing something that is both enjoyable and beneficial for my weight loss. Much better than fat and sugar filled coffee dates!

Leave a Reply

